Night Ride

The saddle is on
my horse and I am
so ready to leave
but you hold me back

And I don’t know why
you keep holding on
The well is dry
there’s nothing wrong
just something is wrong

So I left when you were not
watching close enough
The escape was slightly
a little too easy

‘Cause I found the weakness
in your personality
I found the place in your heart
where you didn’t love me
That’s when I knew I could leave

Now the saddle is on
my horse but I am not
She came back home
when I set her free

And I’m sure you saw her there
with the reigns hanging loose
She is an old-soul mare
She just ran right home
but I’m safe alone

So take the saddle off
lay it down in the grass
Let her go where she wants
so she’ll know she’s really free

And go back into the house
Fix yourself some tea
Don’t bother thinking ’bout
Just forget about me
Please remember me
Oh remember me

Just forget about me
Please remember me
Oh remember me

*Another one of my songs now. Put a little guitar to it. It’s definitely in the same category as my poem/song called “Trepidation” – a similar melancholy and simple tune.


About this entry